How can I ensure that footage doesn't get in the wrong hands?
The VideoBadge system is designed to be secure.
VideoBadge has encrypted security so if a badge gets lost no one can access any footage. System access controls means only authorised users can access the system.
A full audit trail details all activity and system outputs.
Understanding the Data Deletion Policy
When the MyWitness VideoManager software application is first installed there is a default data deletion policy.
Deletion policies allow you to protect important footage from deletion and at the same time ensures footage, which is no longer required, is automatically deleted after a specified time, to comply with a data protection policy for instance. The deletion policies can be accessed from the Settings menu, Manager Settings and then going to the Deletion Policies tab. [Note that not all user logins will have the appropriate level of authority to access this menu].
There are four categories of footage; Standard, Preserved, Recently Unpreserved and Manually Deleted, each of which has a user configurable policy. These policies are consulted whenever the Video manager application needs to delete video footage. The manager deletes video files on demand in accordance with the deletion policy to make space for new video footage. If this were not done and the VideoManager filespace becomes full, no video will be downloaded from the VideoBadges when they are docked after use.
When video footage is first downloaded from the VideoBadge it falls into the standard category. The deletion policy for standard footage provides several options allowing you to specify exactly how long to retain footage. For example you may specify that footage must be kept for at least 30 days after which it may be deleted to make space (if required), alternatively you could specify that footage must be deleted after 60 days.
Footage that is then included in an incident becomes preserved footage and by default is always protected from automatic deletion.
Recently unpreserved footage is footage that was originally part of an incident but is no longer, either due to a video clip being edited or the entire incident has been deleted.
Manually deleted footage refers to video footage the user selects on the Video files tab and deletes by selecting the Delete Video option. The footage is protected from deletion for the length of time specified in this policy (default 2 days). After this period the footage falls back into the standard footage policy and will be subject to the data deletion policy in this category.
A guide to Data Protection
The number of organisations adopting body worn camera solutions is increasing every year. The technology helps users to be better protected at work through deterring conflict and brings swift resolution to disputes and allegations.
However, there are some important questions to ask yourself if you are responsible for running a body worn video system. Read More
What are the legal implications of using a body worn video system?
Organisations have been using body-worn-video systems for some years now. It is an accepted security technology, like CCTV. Body worn video systems have been used successfully in civil and criminal cases.
Falls under CCTV regulations.
- Inform people they are being recorded with signage and or verbal statement
- Inform who is doing the recording (The organisation)
- Inform on the purpose of the recording (i.e. for safety and security)
- Have controls in place for who views any footage
Data Protection Act
Keeping safe records and deleting the information after a reasonable period of time. The VideoManager software manages this aspect, with controls for secure viewing, storage, auto deletion, evidence management and audit trail.